Sunday Sessions

Semiotext[e] presents
The Return of Schizo-Culture

Sunday, November 16, 2014
12:00 PM to 6:00 PM

VW Dome

With: Laurie Anderson, Kim GordonAlan Vega
Penny Arcade, Franco "Bifo" Berardi, Tom Chiu, Taylor Deupree, Douglas Dunn, Jim Fletcher, Richard Foreman, John Giorno, Veronica Gonzalez PeñaJulia Heyward, Gary Indiana, Ken Jordan, Elizabeth LeCompte, Richard MaxwellEileen Myles, Ben Neill, PharmakonAriana Reines, Marion ScemamaWalter Steding, Lynne Tillman, Masha Tupitsyn, Kate Valk, Stephen Vitiello, Jackie Wang, McKenzie Wark and David Watson.

On the occasion of its 40th anniversary the influential independent press, Semiotext(e), presents an afternoon of performances, screenings, music, and readings evoking the legendary 1975 Schizo-Culture conference, that featured a series of seminal papers, from Deleuze’s first presentation of the concept of the “rhizome” to Foucault’s introduction of his History of Sexuality project. Designed by a group of artists and filmmakers including Kathryn Bigelow and Denise Green, it documented the chaotic creativity of an emerging downtown New York scene, and offered interviews with artists, theorists, writers, and No Wave and pre-punk musicians. 

The program takes place in conjunction with the restaging of Cine Virus - a film program organized in 1978 by Bigelow and Michael Oblowitz - at The Museum of Modern Art on November 17, as part of To Save and Project: The 12th MoMA International Festival of Film Preservation and Modern Mondays.


*MoMA and MoMA PS1+ Members can purchase tickets at this discounted rate in advance by calling 718.784.2084 and choosing extension 0 during museum hours or in person at the Box Office.


Sunday Sessions is organized by Jenny Schlenzka, Associate Curator with Mike Skinner, Producer, Alex Sloane, Curatorial Assistant and Rosey Selig-Addiss, Associate Producer.

Sunday Sessions and the VW Dome at MoMA PS1 are made possible by a partnership with Volkswagen of America.

Major support is provided by MoMA’s Wallis Annenberg Fund for Innovation in Contemporary Art through the Annenberg Foundation.